The Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC) is a series of courses that California community college students may complete to satisfy the lower-division breadth/general education requirements before transferring to either the California State University or most colleges and majors at UC campuses.

IGETC includes 11 courses (34 semester units) in the following subjects:

  • English communication
  • Mathematical concepts and quantitative reasoning
  • Arts and humanities
  • Social and behavioral sciences
  • Physical and biological sciences
  • Language other than English

IGETC is not an admission requirement, and not all UC campuses recommend fulfilling IGETC for all majors. Consult the major-preparation paths and assist.org to determine whether IGETC is a good option for you and what courses at your community college fulfill IGETC requirements. Learn more about IGETC.